Shri P.S. Veeraraghavan

psveeraraghavan-dirvsscShri P.S. Veeraraghavan is a renowned electrical engineer with accomplishments in Space technology mainly in the field of integration of launch vehicles. Shri Veeraraghavan had a long and illustrious career spanning over a period of over four decades in the Indian Space Research Organisation. He took over as Director, VSSC on October 31, 2009 and continued in that revered post till December, 2012. Under his able leadership, PSLV made six successful missions viz PSLV C15/Cartosat-2B, PSLV C16/Resourcesat, PSLV C17/GSAT-12, PSLV C18/Meghatropiques, PSLV C19/ RISAT-1 and PSLV C21/SPOT-6. GSLV had two missions including the first test flight of indigenous cryogenic stage. Several major facilities of international class were established in VSSC during his tenure.

Prior to this he had functioned as Director, ISRO Inertial Systems Unit (IISU) from July 2002 to 2009. As Director, IISU, he has made significant contributions in the development of inertial systems for launch vehicles and spacecrafts, which are at par with those of other Space faring nations, in terms of orbit injection accuracy, eventually leading ISRO to self reliance in this crucial technology. The inertial navigation systems supplied by IISU for PSLV C11/Chandrayaan-1 mission has contributed for the precise orbital maneuvres and a very accurate lunar injection. Under his able leadership, IISU has developed a number of advanced inertial sensors.

After graduation in Electrical Engineering from College of Engineering, Guindy with a gold medal for having secured first rank in Madras University and M Tech in Electronics Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Madras, Shri Veeraraghavan joined VSSC (then SSTC) in 1971. He started his career in the checkout systems development team of the SLV Project, under the leadership of Dr APJ Abdul Kalam. He was responsible for the design and development of the first computerised checkout system for the SLV3 Project. Shri Veeraraghavan has taken training in CNES, France, in Diamante launching in 1971-72. He has also made pioneering contributions in the area of integration and checkout of ISRO’s launch vehicles. As Deputy Director of Mechanisms and Vehicle Integration Testing entity, he was responsible for assembly, integration and checkout of PSLV and GSLV till June, 2002.

Shri Veeraraghavan is the recipient of the prestigious VASVIK Award (1997) in Electronics, the Astronautical Society of India award (2002) in the area of Rocket Technology and ISRO’s Performance Excellence Award (2007). He is also fellow in a number of professional bodies including the Aeronautical Society of India. He has also been nominated to the governing council of the Indian National Academy of Engineering, New Delhi.